Budget · Cooking · Food · Money Saving

Budget Winter Stew

image.jpg

There’s something so comforting about a bowl of hot stew in winter. Perfect on it’s own or served with some freshly buttered bread.

But the best thing about it is it really is a budget meal! It’s nearly grocery day so im trying to use up what we’ve got in the fridge and I found a bag of sizzle steak…. It’s not exactly the kind of bbq weather that you’d normally use sizzle steak for so I decided to get creative with it and use it for this budget winter stew.

I chopped the steak in to small pieces and popped it in to the bottom of the slow cooker on high for 4 hours. On top of that I added 2 large diced Potatos, 1 large diced sweet potato, 1 large diced carrot, 1/2 jar tomato pasta sauce I found in the fridge, wistershire sauce, and some water. Then about 1.5 hours before dinner I added diced pumpkin, 1 large diced zuchinni and some gravy powder to thicken it all. I also turned the slow cooker down to low.

I love no fuss meals like this so are easy to make and serve heaps! There was enough for dinner and lunches too. And all for only around $5!

I’d love to hear others favourite slow cooker meals too.

erin 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

