Budget · Food · Kids · Money Saving

$201 shop!!

The groceries you’ll see in my profile picture were all up… $201!

after becoming a Stay At Home Mum after baby number 2 (apart from working for 6 months for the bank to be happy and us to be able to buy a house – that’s a blog post I’ll do another day), I decided I wanted to help us to save as much as I could and to show our kids the happiest life we could, with them appreciating the small things and knowing that everything in life does come at a cost.

after baby number 3 came, I decided to really knuckle down and work on our budget. For most people, the easiest way to save money is to reduce the cost of their groceries. Which is what I did.

back when my husband and I were both working full time we could EASILY spend $300 a week plus extra trips to the shops for stuff we forgot. It was insane how much we used to spend when I think about it now! We ate well, really well. As in a lot of take away, coffee, treats and meals out… But not a lot to show for it. When we did groceries we’d come home and throw away fruit & veg we had forgotten about and left overs hiding (and growing… ewww!) in the back of the fridge.  We wasted sooo much money. And that was with only 1 child!

So when I got our groceries in at $201 this fortnight I was literally exploding at the seams with excitement over it!!

Now I will admit this shop was a treat shop. I’ve been stricter lately but there was some great specials that I got for the kids and hubby. Ie 90c packets of chips and $2 packets of special cookies we love. Normally I try make all the sweet things but I decided at that price why not get a few bargain treats.

This shop didn’t include baby nappies as I didn’t need any (I use cloth during the day unless im going out or going to school) or toilet paper. I also had to get $15 of fruit & veg on the weekend. But we still came in under budget!

So in my next post I’ll share a list of ideas, hints & tips I use to help reduce our grocery shop and save time at home when cooking and hopefully help you all out too.

erin 😊

Leave a Reply

